Minnesota Community
Corrections Association  

Awards presented by MCCA . . .

2009 Recognition for Excellence: Robbie Robinson Service Award

David Leal


For more than 25 years, the Robbie Robinson Staff Excellence Award has been presented to a staff person who has demonstrated outstanding achievement and dedication to community corrections. Robbie Robinson spent over 20 years of his adult life in prison for a series of offenses. Upon release in 1973, he helped developed a safe and sober living environment for men returning to the community. This program is 180 Degrees. The Robbie Robinson Award requires that a peer (or a number of peers) nominate the recipient. This year, David Leal has been recognized for his dedication, community involvement and excellence in the field of corrections.


David works for the Minnesota Department of Corrections as a Corrections Agent in Buffalo, Minnesota. He strives to assist offenders on his caseload to successfully complete their probation/supervision period. He readily takes the time to help others in need of an interpreter for Spanish-speaking offenders who are going through the various phases of the criminal justice system. He not only speaks their language, but he understands their culture. He is readily available to the Wright County Sheriff’s Department as well as other DOC personnel to serve as an interpreter for PSI interviews and probation intakes.


Dave served on DOC’s Diversity Committee for five years serving as the committee chair for three of those years. The first-ever Diversity Symposium was sponsored by DOC during his tenure. He has also been involved with conflict resolution consulting, most recently assisting the director of a local juvenile facility develop a training tool for managing workplace diversity. He is often contacted by other criminal justice agencies for information on various topics relating to probation, including the LSI, sentencing guidelines and sex offender registration requirements. His coworkers describe him in this way: “Dave is kind and helpful. He is always willing to assist others in their office and he treats offenders on his caseload in a courteous and respectful manner. Dave has always been a team player and goes the extra mile for coworkers and clients. He does his job and he does it well.”


Congratulations to David Leal and thanks for your dedication and commitment.

Past Recipients

"Going above and beyond the call of duty" is the recurring statement used in describing the work habits of our past award recipients. Here they are.

1983        Dale Fisher

1984        Mike McGrane

1985        Liz Tellers

1986        Joan Cichosz

1987        Lennis Carpentier

1988        Jim Bransford

1989        Helen Trickey

1990        Joseph Adderley

1991        David Mathews

1992        Steve Rancour & Tom Kane

1993        Ken Pugh

1994        Nina Swanson

1995        Wayne Eggleston

1996        Raul Sanchez

1997        Jan Wagener & Roy Adams

1998        Kris McGregor

1999        David Heacock

2000        Dona Woltering

2001        Michelle Moran

2002        Kathy Tarver-King

2003        Paul Stasica

2004        Doreen Robinson

2005        Harriette Manis

2006        Tamara Persaud

2007        Scotty Emanuel

2008        Nancy O’Hara

2009        David Leal

                  David Leal I.JPG

2009 Board of Directors Award

Bridget Letnes


Bridget Letnes is MCCA’s 2009 Board of Director’s Award recipient. She has been involved with MCCA for the past 9 years.


  • 2000: started with MCCA on the Education & Training Committee
  • 2002 – 2005: Winter Conference/Special Events Chair
  • 2006: President-Elect
  • 2007: President
  • 2008: Past President
  • 2009: Rejoined the Education & Training Committee

Bridget graduated in 1999 with a degree in Sociology with an emphasis in Criminal Justice and began working for 180 Degrees, a correctional halfway house in Minneapolis. In 2007, she started working for the Minnesota Department of Corrections in the ReEntry Services Unit in a new federally-funded re-entry project as the Hennepin County ReEntry Coordinator for the Prisoner ReEntry Initiative (PRI). Bridget received her MBA from Bethel University in 2008. She volunteers as a youth soccer coach and camp instructor and has traveled to various African countries on mission and leisure expeditions. MCCA has benefited greatly from Bridget’s involvement and contributions.


MCCA Board of Director Recipients


1983  - Tom Lawson

1984      - James Brown

1987 - Dick Williams

1988  - Karole Williams

1989 - Tom Zoet

1990 - Jeff Martin

1991 – Dale Fisher

1992 – Rod Johnson

1993 – Barb Emer

1994 – Ray Ward

1995 – Bob Elkins

1996 – Dave Conde

1997 – Bruce Clendenen

1998 – Pete Batterman

1999 – Sharen Southard

2000 – Louise Wolfgramm

2001 – Susanne Lambert

2002 – Dave Loftness

2003 – John Menke

2004 – Jan Wagner

2005 – Clay Hildahl

2006 – Mark Groves

2007 – Bob Hansen

2008 – Mary Dombrovski

2009 – Bridget Letnes


bridget letnes mcca board of directors award pic.JPG

          Bridget Letnes 2009

Minnesota Community Corrections Association
c/o Goodwill Easter Seals Attn: Christen Munn
553 Fairview Ave
Minneapolis, Minnesota 55104
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software